asebobooth.blogg.se

Tight But Loose Zeppelin
tight but loose zeppelin

















  1. Tight But Loose Zeppelin Archive That I#
  2. Tight But Loose Zeppelin Driver Of The#

Led Zeppelin News (LedZepNews) September 1, 2015. Lewis is selling two of his books as a package for 14 plus postage and packing. He has also released many books about the band, and his writing is some of the most detailed and passionate that you’ll find about Led Zeppelin. Dave Lewis is the editor of Tight But Loose magazine, the regularly published magazine about Led Zeppelin.

tight but loose zeppelin

How do you go about covering it all in one place?Dave Lewis: As the magazine schedule is fairly flexible I was able to add the various on the spot reports as they occurred. There are plenty of interviews, on the spot reports on events etc. Led Zeppelin magazine Tight But Loose ().LedZepNews: What’s striking about the new issue is the sheer amount of content in the magazine. Any really good coverage of the O2 showLedZepNews spoke to Lewis about the new magazine, as well as his 40-year milestone of writing about Led Zeppelin.Dave Lewis first heard the music of Led Zeppelin in 1969 at the age of 13.

What the mag is able to do is keep abreast of the current news but most significantly, present the heritage of Led Zeppelin through the unique content mentioned above. I have a backlog of features to use. (Tight But Loose)There are also interviews with Mark Blake and myself and Mike Tremaglio that take the readers closer to the making of the Peter Grant “Bring It On Home” and “Evenings With Led Zeppelin” books.I never have a problem with filling the magazine with content. So as ever , this issue also encourages you to go back to the music: be it the remarkable Led Zeppelin debut album (see page 8) “Led Zeppelin IV” (see page 8), The “How the West Was Won” and “The Song Remains The Same” reissues (see page 5), the 1972 touring period (see pages 22 -23), a new version of the famous Jshow (see pages 24-25) the Led Zeppelin studio outtakes bootleg catalogue and Robert Plant’s recent solo work (see page 6). Many readers have shared in those events – and those that were not able to do so can now catch up on it all in the magazine.The TBL magazine is also a reflection of my own enthusiasm for the music –one I am always very keen to share. It’s an issue that provides the opportunity to reprise the events of this past year and in doing so shines a light on the TBL community that has been honed over these past 40 years.

I understand that’s because you’re busy with lots of projects at the moment, could you tell us more about them?DL: That decision was initially led by the mammoth undertaking of the “Evenings With Led Zeppelin” book. As I always say, websites are for browsing – the TBL magazine is for reading time and time again.LedZepNews: TBL has moved to a one-issue purchase system rather than a subscription for several magazines at once. Those words mean a lot to me.Overall, this is another TBL outpouring that chronicles the world of Led Zeppelin with over 35,000 words of content. Deb’s husband and guitarist Pete Bullick recently posted a very nice comment on his Facebook page which said “On our return home we find the latest issue of Tight But Loose magazine on our doorstep featuring John’s memorial on the front cover and a beautiful emotional account of the statue unveiling in Redditch’’. I also spoke to the man who created it, Mark Richards.

tight but loose zeppelin

Tight But Loose Zeppelin Archive That I

He had been a long time TBL supporter and was very tech savvy. I’d also like to chronicle my own music-related memoirs somewhere along the line.LedZepNews: Alongside the magazine you also have the Tight But Loose website,which must be one of the longest running Led Zep websites now – how did that originate?DL: Dave Linwood came to me with the initial idea to have a TBL website presence in 1995. I am also eying up a project that focuses on the collectable vinyl side of Led Zep and related catalogue – as is well known, I am a fervent collector of records so to do something in that area would be really interesting. So we are keen to bring as many people as is possible to celebrate that milestone event.I am also chipping away at producing a Best of TBL compendium publication – I have a wealth of unused material from the TBL magazine archive that I would like to present in some format at some point. Following on from the highly enjoyable “It’s been a Long time” TBL Led Zeppelin 50th anniversary event at the pub last September, Julian Walker and myself have singled out Sunday August 4 for our next gatheringThis is of course a significant date as it will be the 40th anniversary of Led Zeppelin’s appearance at Knebworth.

tight but loose zeppelin

Tight But Loose Zeppelin Driver Of The

The second was Led Zeppelin at the Empire Pool in 1971.I spent 35 years selling records etc in my retail job (1974 – 2009) and my interest in collecting records began in 1969 – so it’s been a longstanding affinity. Incidentally, the first gig I attended was The Dave Clark 5 package show with The Hollies and The Kinks at Granada Cinema Bedford in April 1964. Records as in LPs and singles are the music carrying format of my choice and they instantly re-connect me with the music that I grew up with – the music that continues to define who I am.The first record I owned was the “Fireball XL5 theme” by Don Spencer on HMV (1962) – the first single I bought was “Pinball Wizard” by The Who and the first albums were the Island Records sampler “You Can All Join in” and Cream – “Fresh Cream” (1969). In terms of news gathering –TBL is affiliated to your Led Zeppelin news site and I’d like to state what a fantastic job you do in collating current Zep-related news.LedZepNews: You mentioned record collecting – that is a big passion of yours, isn’t it?DL: Very much so. It’s one of my key objectives ahead to keep making that an interesting weekly hub for visitors to tap into – and ultimately drive sales of the TBL magazine and books and merchandising.My Facebook page is also a crucial driver of the TBL message – I have over 4,500 friends on the page – many of them ardent Zep fans – it’s a great method of keeping them abreast with news and views. The website also has a very loyal following.

Then it got put away, and then there was separation, divorce or whatever. Children and vinyl don’t mix, so I kept having to shift it up a level. When our vinyl is in easy reach and becomes in easy reach of children. What inspired you to get back to collecting LPs again?JP: Probably when my children grew up … because what doesn’t mix is children and vinyl! All of us fathers know this. Part of Lewis’ record collectionAs has been chronicled, in recent years my vinyl collecting has reached new highs and I am certainly not alone – Mr Jimmy Page himself explained his record collecting bug to me in the interview I conducted with him for TBL 38 in October 2014.DL: I know one of your great pastimes is record shopping.

tight but loose zeppelin